On being an auntie-to-be!

So, my brother & his wife are having a baby. I am over the moon about it!

If anyone knows anything about me, they know I love babies!! We had their baby shower this past weekend, and I’m sure you could have guessed… I was all over it! I think I will do a couple posts about it, today’s will be the baby shower & I’ll do another one for the gift. Oh my good gosh the gift I made, so cute! (not to toot my own horn!) 😉 Then I will do another on the diaper cake I made!

So before I start with the pictures, I’ll explain. It’s a boy!! His name will be Liam. As most people, we (me & the mommy-to-be’s sisters) wanted a themed shower without being over-the-top tacky. So the theme?! Storybook themed! It would be very easy to take it too far, but it was soo classic.

On the invitation, we put on the bottom, “In lui of a card, please bring a storybook to start Liam’s bookshelf!” and we put a sticker inside that says “This book is given to baby by ________ and this book is special to me because _______”  And everything worked out perfectly! 1. Everyone brought such thoughtful books! 2. There were no repeats. I was almost positive they were going to get 3 Hop on Pops, but nope! Lots of love was given to that baby. Someone even bought a bookshelf to put in the baby’s room with all the new books! So exciting.

The Book I Gave Liam!

The Book I Gave Liam!

I got the baby this book of stories I loved from when I was little. I used to bring it to show & tell every single time. Obviously it isn’t like those board books for babies, but I hope when he gets a bit older, he will get as much enjoyment as I did with these 6 stories. The big blue book includes, Go, Dog. Go!, Are You My Mother?, The Best Nest, Put Me In the Zoo, It’s Not Easy Being a Bunny (the first PJ Funnybunny story), A Fly Went By. I put the sticker on the inside cover & wrote;

” This book is given to baby Liam by

Shannon

and this book is special to me because

it was my favorite when I was little. I hope to someday share the love of reading with you!

I love you to the moon & back Liam!

Love Auntie Shan.”

The rest of the pictures in this post won’t need much explaination:

Centerpieces!

Centerpieces!

Up close
Up close

The bottom of the centerpieces, marbles & grass
The bottom of the centerpieces, marbles & grass

The favor table; handmade bookmarks & Little scented candles in the shape of a blue baby Owl.

The favor table; handmade bookmarks & Little scented candles in the shape of a blue baby Owl.

bookmarkfavor

I am so excited to welcome this little bundle of joy into the world in September!

That baby will have so much love! I’m one the look-out for a “My auntie loves me” onesie… Any suggestions on where to look? 🙂

One thought on “On being an auntie-to-be!

  1. Pingback: On making Diaper Cakes! | Simplistic Summer Haze

Leave a Reply

